Why a blog

So, I must begin with my intentions. Why have I decided to start a blog? Why have I waited until now to start one?

The answer to the first question is that it is as much for me as it is for you. That was a lie. It is more for me than for you. I need to see if I have the ability to keep up with a regular blog, perhaps see if blogging will help me “find myself”, or more of myself that I didn’t know existed. I need a place where I can vent about daily events, or just post random thoughts. I cannot promise that everything I post will be intellectual. It may be silly, or even at the worst moments, seem trivial. But I can promise you this, it will be the truth, it will be honest. That is to the extent I know how to be.

I’m not saying that this will not be rewarding for you as well. What goes on in my crazy life is more than entertaining. Its disturbing and painful, blissful and dramatic, and all the other lovely emotions life has dealt me combined. What do you have to lose… read if it interests you, hit the X in the corner if it doesn’t.

The Second question- Why Start a blog now?

I leave for Jordan in a little more than a month. I’ll be studying abroad in Amman for the Fall semester.  One of the RDs at our school suggested I create a blog to document this adventure. His intention in the suggestion was to provide a source for me to stay in contact with all of my friends and family while I am away. But in his suggestion I saw a second opportunity, the chance to publicly present a real life encounter with the Arab World. I’m not one for hidden agendas (hence this post). So, part of my intention is to present a little piece of arab to all my readers (as few or many as that may be). Perhaps my posts will clear up misconceptions the people of this country have acquired since the start of these wars from misleading media, and mislead leadership. More importantly, I hope my posts will give depth to the simplistic understanding so many have of one of the most beautiful regions and people in the world. (OK, I’m a little bias.) Maybe I’ll gain more of an understanding of what it means to be arab.

So here it is, the real tales of an Arab- American, 20-year-old, from Colorado, living in an apartment with other American students in Amman, Jordan.

Let the Journey begin.

Leave a Reply

